For tire collection locations and hours, click here.
The Solid Waste District operates the Used Tire Collection program for Benton County. The Arkansas Used Tire Recycling and Accountability Program governs everyone who purchases or sells tires. The law was adopted by the State Legislature as Act 317 of 2017 which created numerous changes to the State law regarding management and fees of used tires. The primary goal of the new tire program is to recycle or put to beneficial use as many used tires as possible.
Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology (PC&E) Commission adopted Regulation 36 which implements the law and establishes procedures for everyone to follow.
Each adult resident of Benton County may dispose of up to 4 free tires of any size per month. Tires must be delivered to one of the collection locations. Multiple trips or trips to different locations is not allowed. Photo ID is required and additional proof of residency may be needed.
FEES TO BE CHARGED
A fee is charged based on a tire being removed from a rim at the time a new or used replacement tire is purchased from a tire retailer. The rim removal fee shall be imposed at the rate of three dollars ($3.00) for each new tire that replaces a tire removed from a rim and one dollar ($1.00) for each used tire that replaces a tire removed from a rim.
A fee of $3.00 applies on tires sold as part of Fleet Services of a municipality, county, state agency, federal agency, school district, a political subdivision of the state, or a person who ordinarily buys tires in bulk for use on commercial vehicles. An additional fee of $1.00 per tire applies to each used tire imported into Arkansas.
The fee must be charged to a person who:
Purchases an applicable replacement tire for a rim that necessitates the removal of a different tire from the same rim; or
Purchases the service of removal of a tire from a rim and replacement with a tire brought in by the person if the person requesting the rim removal cannot show proof of payment of the rim removal fee for the replacement tire. (Example: A customer purchased a tire from an online retailer and brought it into a local tire dealer to have it mounted on their own rim. Most online retailers do NOT collect the required fee on behalf of the State of Arkansas. Therefore, the citizen will be required to pay the fee at the time they have the replacement tire mounted.)
Extra-Large Tires – Extra-large tire means a tire that, due to its size and construction, is more difficult to process. Extra-large tires include a skid steer loader; excavation equipment; farm implement, including a tractor; backhoe; road grader, including heavy and industrial equipment; and heavy-duty truck used for off-road work, such as mining.
Tires used on nonmotorized equipment such as some bicycles, golf carts, and lawnmowers are not covered by this program and should be disposed of in your regular trash.
INFORMATION FOR TIRE DEALERS
Effective 1/1/2018, Dealers MUST begin charging the fees shown above. These fees should be used to calculate the remittance on the Waste Tire Return Form (WST-1) must be filed monthly with the Miscellaneous Tax Division of DF&A, even if no activity occurred (check the No Activity box on the form). Forms may be filed and payments made online at atap.arkansas.gov. You also may sign up, view and manage your account online at atap.arkansas.gov. For more information on the tire program, call DF&A at 501-682-7187. Or email: .. Do not send the WST-1 form to the Solid Waste District. A sample form with instructions may be downloaded here.
Arkansas tire retailers may now keep 5% per rim removal fee charged to customers, before remitting to DF&A’s Miscellaneous Tax Section. The net amounts to be remitted are $2.85 per rim removal for new tires and $.95 per rim removal for used tires. These net amounts due per rim removal are listed on the new WST-1 form. Remember, the new rim removal fees are no longer determined by the size of the tire.
Form to Record Used Tire Disposal Shipments
Each time you ship used tires from your retail location to the District's collection facility, you will complete a form called the Used Tire Manifest. See a sample of the manifest here. You must record the name and contact information of the Tire Generator (dealer/retailer) and your DF&A number as well as the quantities and sizes of tires you are shipping out.
The form must accompany the transporting of tires from the Generator to the Used Tire Program (District) Facility whether by the generator or by a hired transporter. (Note: Tire transport limits were removed by the new law if you haul your own waste tires to the District's facility. Generators hauling their own tires no longer need to limit the number of tires hauled nor need a Tire Transporter license.)
If you have a hired company that hauls the tires for you, they must have a valid Tire Transporter License from the State. The hauling company (Transporter) will verify the number of tires they received from your location. They will enter the number of those tires that they kept for reuse before delivering them to the District. The District will verify the number of tires received at the District's facility. Any tire quantity discrepancy must be documented and ADEQ notified.
For More Information
For information on the rules for Benton County or available credits, call the District's Tire Clerk at (479) 795-0751.
For information on collecting or submitting fees, call the Miscellaneous Tax Section of DF&A at 501-682-7187.
For fact sheets, checklists or to obtain a Transporter License, visit ADEQ's Tire Accountability Program website here.
FEEL FREE TO CALL THE DISTRICT FIRST WITH ANY QUESTIONS YOU MAY HAVE. We may be able to help you avoid additonal calls. (479) 795-0751